Abrupt

1 May

“ABRUPT, adj. Sudden, without ceremony, like the arrival of a cannon- shot and the departure of the soldier whose interests are most affected by it. Dr. Samuel Johnson beautifully said of another author’s ideas that they were “concatenated without abruption.”

I now realise, after reading those words that I posted on the 27th April,  that I was abrupt. And by a little, I mean a lot.

Do any of you, my dear readers (not that I have any, at this point) know who I am, or why I started this crazy little ranty-moany-thingy? No, of course not. Do any of you know what my favourite item of clothing, book, or webcomic is?

Well?

Do you?

***

Name: Josie Carter

Lives: in a small annoying corner of England where nothing ever happens, thus driving me towards so much boredom that I started a blog for goodness sake. (EDIT: may just have revealed a little too much information here.)

Things about me:

  • I like tea. As in, the drink.
  • im verty bard at tuop]ing’
  • I have this massive pet peeve-ance at people who cant spell or use proper English grammar (you hypocrite, Josie…)
  • I get obsessed by things very easily
  • I have a twin sister.
  • I often get very annoyed with my twin sister.
  • I often rant about my twin sister.
  • I have no social life, which is why I often end up staring at my computer (you need no more proof than this)
  • I get some very weird nicknames ( the high points: Sebastian, The Eric Murderer (see previous post) and, for no apparent reason, Josephone.)
  • I could eat desserts all day.
  • I live in a town where 85% (or thereabouts)of the population is over 65 years of age.
  • I read about a book a day because I am one of those people who needs to know everything before they die.

My pet hates are:

  • Manufactured generic pop.
  • Justin Bieber-style singing.
  • Justin Bieber fangirls.
  • Justin Bieber. (Watch out, buddy, you’re on my hit list.)
  • JLS. If you’ve never heard of them, be happy.
  • American spellings ( It’s manoeuvre, people, and centre, not center!)
  • People who call me cute. I’m not. I’m fun-sized!

I realise I have just completed my first random gooble spew.

Thank you for listening.

8 Responses to “Abrupt”

  1. Eric Does Not Exist May 1, 2010 at 4:02 pm #

    I have only just realised that *still* none of you know what my favourite item of clothing, book or webcomic actually is.

    • EricDoesNotExist September 13, 2010 at 5:35 pm #

      But do you need to?

      • EricDoesNotExist January 21, 2011 at 10:30 pm #

        Gloves/scarves or braces, too many to list, the jury’s still out.

        Respectively.

        In case you’re interested.

        Which I doubt you are, frankly.

  2. chasingvenus May 8, 2010 at 12:12 pm #

    I too, can (and occasionally do) eat desserts all day. Also as an American raised abroad and now living in England, I am probably the worst offender I know when it comes to British vs American English. I honestly don’t know which is which half the time. Can’t win anywhere now.

    • Ivy Blaise June 12, 2010 at 1:14 pm #

      Hahahaha brilliant rant/spew! I believe that I am guilty of the Americanized spelling myself…my first excuse is that I, for my life, cannot get the British spell-check to work on my PC….very annoying! Excuse two… its due to my “foreignness”… at least it’s worth a try as an excuse… 🙂 Enough excuses now. Anyway, I really enjoy your blog, it has me in stitches most times! 🙂

      • Eric Does Not Exist June 13, 2010 at 2:36 pm #

        Hee hee, foreignness! I might forgive you this one time ~*(¬.¬)*~
        I’m really glad I had you in stitches! I feel really good now!

  3. Allegra January 21, 2011 at 9:54 pm #

    Wow… I’m staring at the computer screen in complete and utterly amazed shock. I was just browsing your blog and found this post. I’ve discovered that (at least based on your lists) you and I are so similar that it’s slightly creepy. I can only spot two major differences here: 1) You have a twin sister and I’m an only child (but I wish I had a twin) and 2) You live in England and I live in the USA (but I wish I lived in England). Just because I’m an American doesn’t mean I appreciate our poor spelling, by the way (similarity #1).
    We clearly share a mutual dislike (or something stronger) of all things Justin Bieber. He can take his teenybopper songs and sideways hair and get out of everyone’s face, as far as I’m concerned.
    Desserts, reading, and saying random things (such as my infamous snow shovel post– your comment there had me laughing on-and-off for hours, by the way!)are addictions of mine, too. I get positively outraged at certain grammatical errors, especially the misuse of the word “comprise.” My parents have found me shaking magazines, books, and the computer screen madly and shouting, “If you can’t replace it with ’embraces,’ you’re using it incorrectly!” My town, too, is composed primarily of retirees. My lack of social life has plagued me for ages, probably because my expression when I’m talking to people says “I’d rather be reading then talking to you” as plainly as if I had a bumper sticker plastered to my forehead.
    Sorry for the extra-long comment. And speaking of comments, I love your “Comment!” widget. I’m sorry I didn’t think of it first.

    • EricDoesNotExist January 21, 2011 at 10:22 pm #

      Wow. I thought I was the only social-recluse-bibliophile-cake-munching-grammatical-puritan-Bieber-hating blogger within a few million pixels of here.

      You really don’t wish you had a twin. Okay, so they’re useful when you forget things (if I don’t have something, she usually does) but you having to cover for her. And when you refuse (oh, cold-hearted Josie *slaps self on wrist*) you get accused of ‘not loving each other’. As you may be able to tell, she and I fight a lot.

      I have to admit, I’m pretty proud of CP Scott.

      Gurg, Bieber’s sideways hair. It must take a lot of hairspray to get it like that every morning; either that or some intensely difficult maneouvre of the neck, including a spinal oscillation and several goes before it looks even passable.

      Oh, and one last thing: don’t apologise for a mega-long comment. I love it. Seriously.

Leave a Reply

