Festive Posting

6 Jan

I am one of those suckish and horrible bloggers who don’t post over the holidays.
This is for two reasons.

1. My brother (IF YOU ARE READING THIS, NICK. IF YOU ARE, STOP IT. STOP NOW) took great pleasure in antagonising me over my what can only be called eccentric subject matter.

2. I was using up enough energy in trying to make myself feel in any way festive to put effort into being my utterly beguiling, ravishing, interesting and usually gramatically correct internet self.

This shocking behaviour lies in stark contrast with the lovely Pie and Biscuits who lovingly and carefully kept up the festive cheer in a series of fantastic, well written and extremely enjoyable posts. I thank P’n’B for being so committed and helping me through the trials of Christmas, a time that is so very dificult for all of us.

I will make up for it, impoverished readers. I promise.

Meanwhile, here is a picture.

That’s what I was really doing all holiday. Eating pomegranates. And watching Doctor Who.

7 Responses to “Festive Posting”

  1. EricDoesNotExist January 6, 2011 at 10:38 pm #

    And yes, there was a need for CAPSLOCK AND REPETITION. YES, THERE WAS.

  2. Val Erde January 7, 2011 at 1:55 am #

    oh.my.god.I.want.pomegranate!
    😉

  3. Allegra January 7, 2011 at 2:04 pm #

    Ah, the holidays…that wonderful time of year when decorations are put up, family gatherings staged, and blogs lie huddled, sobbing desperately, in a corner. I understand this completely. I think the best way to convince yourself to blog during the holidays is to lower your standards: for example, tell yourself, “I’m only going to post once a week.” I find that when you consciously try to limit your posting, the more posts you realize you want to write, and therefore, you post just as often as any other time of year.

    • EricDoesNotExist January 7, 2011 at 7:22 pm #

      Wow. That’s quite an advanced theory. Applying reverse psychology to one’s own psyche. Freud would be proud.

      I do occasionally get itchy fingers, but a notepad is never there when I need one. And when I do have the presence of mind to perform some kind of fiendish brain-trick on myself, i realise that my standards are pretty much low enough. 🙂

      PS. Interesting word choice. In my family, ‘staged’ gatheings are quite frequent. We all pretend to be sane. Such fun!

  4. omawarisan January 8, 2011 at 2:41 am #

    Pomegranate and Dr. Who…not a bad way to pass time!

    • EricDoesNotExist January 8, 2011 at 3:40 pm #

      And quite exhausting as well. Have you any idea how labour intesnive it is to eat a whole pomegranate? It takes hours!

Leave a Reply

